Last updated Tuesday, December 06, 2016 4:13 pm GMT+8

Read

Six true crime books about lesser-known, suspected serial killers

Six true crime books about lesser-known, suspected serial killers

By Jessica Ferri (The Line-Up)
December 6, 2016

NEW YORK, Dec 6 — What’s more terrifying than a famous serial killer? The one you don’t know about — a vicious killer who flies under the radar. These serial killers’ untold stories are sure to have even the most dedicated true crime fans looking over their shoulders. From the Ypsilanti Ripper (who was only convicted of one murder, but suspected of seven) to the Butcher Baker (the Alaskan serial killer who hunted his victims for sport), these cringe-worthy true crime stories... Read more

Recent Articles in Read

Culture-inspired coffee table books for gifting

Culture-inspired coffee table books for gifting LOS ANGELES, Dec 4 — Looking for a truly memorable Christmas gift this year? Here’s a selection of some of the most beautiful books to adorn the coffee tables of anyone interested in art... Read more

In Morocco’s Fez, world’s oldest library holds gems

In Morocco’s Fez, world’s oldest library holds gems FEZ, Dec 4 — Nestled in a labyrinth of streets in the heart of Morocco’s ancient city of Fez, stands the world’s oldest working library. Its sculpted dark wooden door stands almost... Read more

From Micheal Lewis, a portrait of the men who shaped ‘Moneyball’

From Micheal Lewis, a portrait of the men who shaped ‘Moneyball’ NEW YORK, Dec 4 — More than a decade ago, Michael Lewis was following a group of young baseball players through the minor leagues. He was working on a sequel to his 2003 best seller... Read more

Five illustrated books every kid will enjoy for Christmas 2016

Five illustrated books every kid will enjoy for Christmas 2016 NEW YORK, Dec 4 — With International Picture Book Month having come to an end, here are this season’s most successful young children’s books that make the perfect stocking... Read more



UK pensioner returns library book… 63 years late

UK pensioner returns library book… 63 years late LONDON, Dec 3 — A British pensioner has returned a library book to her school some 63 years after taking it out, the librarian said yesterday. The woman, now in her 70s, found the 1929... Read more

10 creepy books based on real-life crimes

By Jessica Ferri (THE LINEUP)

10 creepy books based on real-life crimes NEW YORK, Dec 2 — As any reader will tell you, the only thing more chilling than fictional horror is a terrifying tale based on fact. Here are 10 creepy books inspired by true crimes.... Read more

What it takes to open a bookstore

By Jonah Engel Bromwich

What it takes to open a bookstore NEW YORK, Nov 30 — For more than 20 years, small bookstores have been vanishing, their business models under pressure from large competitors and internet retailers. Lately, though, there... Read more

New thriller from author of ‘The Girl On the Train’ due in May

New thriller from author of ‘The Girl On the Train’ due in May LONDON, Nov 30 — Two women, a single mother and a teenage girl, are found dead at the bottom of a river in a small town in northern England, just weeks apart. An investigation into the... Read more


A comically candid childhood chronicle

By Alan Wong

A comically candid childhood chronicle KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 30 — Comic and talk show host Trevor Noah’s memoir about growing up in South Africa was one of two books I cracked open after a weeks-long reading drought and I was... Read more

Six books for fans of ‘Psycho’

By Jessica Ferri (THE LINEUP)

Six books for fans of ‘Psycho’ NEW YORK, Nov 30 — Whether it’s the classic film by Alfred Hitchcock or the serial killer that inspired the novel by Robert Bloch, the psychology behind Psycho has fascinated fans for... Read more

Brooklyn Beckham brokers book deal

Brooklyn Beckham brokers book deal LOS ANGELES, Nov 30 — David and Victoria Beckham’s eldest son is already an established model and photographer and from May 2017 will be able to call himself a published author,... Read more

Books do speak to children’s imagination, says author Julia Donaldson

Books do speak to children’s imagination, says author Julia Donaldson SINGAPORE, Nov 29 — It is no exaggeration to say Julia Donaldson is one of the world’s most loved authors. After all, kids love her rhymes; parents love her wit; and the 68-year-old... Read more


Our Picks in Read

Picture of the Day

A barmaid reads the Corriere della Sera newspaper at a coffee shop in Rome December 6, 2016. ― Reuters pic

A barmaid reads the Corriere della Sera newspaper at a coffee shop in Rome December 6, 2016. ― Reuters pic Read More